I resit therefore I am

I have resit students. Why? Because they failed the course and need to do it again. Fair enough but resit students bring with them one or two points to consider:

1)Motivation. Are they motivated to improve and pass the course?

2)Will the materials be the same or will they be changed to accommodate a few resit students?

3)Do students lose points or get punished for resitting or is it just an easy doss?

4)How much blame should the teacher take for these students resitting?

5)How many times have they resat? It could be just once or twice.

6)Is there a problem with the actual course or the final test which is creating failure?

I am currently wrestling with all of the above.

2 thoughts on “I resit therefore I am

  1. Here are my thoughts:

    1)Motivation. Are they motivated to improve and pass the course?
    This will get sussed out pretty early on in the term, right?

    2)Will the materials be the same or will they be changed to accommodate a few resit students?
    I’d keep materials as much the same as you want them to be. They are resitting your course; you are not making a new course for them.

    3)Do students lose points or get punished for resitting or is it just an easy doss?
    No, I’d mark them just as any student who takes the course. Why would they be treated differently?

    4)How much blame should the teacher take for these students resitting?
    That entirely depends on the teacher. You should know whether you taught the course and facilitated their learning to a level you are satisfied with.

    5)How many times have they resat? It could be just once or twice.
    n/a

    6)Is there a problem with the actual course or the final test which is creating failure?
    If the student is motivated, there may be an issue with how the concepts are showing relevance for the students.

    • 1)No!
      2)Same but I have changed some online exercises to improve them rather than just for the resitters.
      3)I guess so but it’s not official.
      4)I’ve decided just to accept it. Many passed, others didn’t. I did what I was told, I feel I brought a lot more to the course than there was so if there were fail, well, that’s how it is.
      5)I’m thinking once but it could be twice. I may ask and try not to insult anyone.
      6)These are definitely ‘no extra work’ classes as their main studies are the priority. English, like in most places I’ve worked, is just an extra. Except when they fail and can’t graduate with a BA or MA or both in Mechanical Engineering just because they got 765 instead of 775 on TOEIC. That really has to hurt.

      Maybe tests should be replaced with presentations, especially for speaking-based classes. I’m OK for MCQ tests for grammar classes.

Leave a Reply

