The joy of tests

I have taught a bit of a dull topic in grammar class for the past week. to treat the students I’ve provided several interesting online English resources to reward them for their hard work. I’ve given them a choice of a video-based activity, songs, reading+interactive questions and a test.

90% of people have opted for the test. My description was “this is a test that covers most of what we’ve done so far this term”. 

Maybe, they all really wanted to measure their progress or perhaps it’s just that they are so into MCQs and online tests that they aren’t used to or enjoy (??) anything else. It’s strange as other schools/classes I know would be on the video one before I even finish speaking. Actually, I’d say that video-based activities seem far less popular this year than last. I wonder why….

Leave a Reply

